The Nice Guys Movie Review

Review by: dancingonrain.

 

The Nice Guys takes place in 1977 Los Angeles where Holland March (Ryan Gosling) is and alcoholic and the world’s worst private eye.  Jackson Healy (Russell Crowe) makes his living as basically as a hitman.  When Healy needs to find Amelia (Margaret Qualley), a girl March had been searching for earlier, Healy seeks his help.  They team up for an adventure of hilarious fun to find the missing girl.  But they aren’t the only ones searching for her.  Along the way they discover that anyone who was affiliated with the movie Amelia was in, are the targets of murder.

When I first saw the trailer for this movie, I thought it was just going to be yet another lackluster crime/comedy film, but when I read many peer reviews that said it was good, I thought I’d give it a try.  And I was not disappointed.

While this movie did have its slow moments that I didn’t always think they were necessary scenes and while the villains’ identities and motives were pretty predictable, this movie’s entertainment/comedy and action scenes far outweighed the weaker aspects of the film.

One thing I wasn’t sure about was I’m not entirely sure how March even became a private investigator in the first place.  He’s not the brightest person and is a goof more than anything.  The only reason I can think of is that he used to be a great investigator.  His daughter knew what she was doing more of the time than he did, but because of this it made me think that before March was an alcoholic and lost his wife, he may have taught his daughter how to be a good investigator and be safe before he became an alcoholic.  That, to me, told me he probably used to be a good private investigator until he became jaded.   Maybe I’m overthinking it, but I like to think I’m not.

While I thought this movie was good, you also do need to like a certain amount of dark and slapstick humor in order to enjoy this movie.  If you don’t have a problem with either, then you’ll probably enjoy this movie.

Leave a Reply

