Grave Mercy by Robin Lafevers Book Review

Review by: dancingonrain.

Ismae, a seventeen year old girl, escapes her arranged marriage to an abusive man by seeking shelter at the convent of St. Mortian.  Here, the sisters serve the Death God and are trained in his secrets to become assassins, handmaidens of Death.  In order for her to live at the convent, she must learn to destroy the lives of others marked by death.

This leads to her most important assignment at the high court of Brittany, a mission she is heavily under prepared and under experienced for, especially when the convent orders her to deliver Death’s vengeance against the man who has stolen her heart.

Even after I finished reading this book, I still haven’t made my mind up about it.  While there where some entertaining scenes, I also found myself bored at other parts.   This book had been recommended to me by a friend who wanted to know what I thought about it and now that we’ve discussed it, she was in the same boat as me.

While this book was fairly predictable and I think had too much of a happy-esque ending that didn’t seem all that realistic, it still did have its suspenseful moments.  But despite that, some of the prose brought me out of the story, especially some of the dialogue.  I realize this is set in an earlier time, but while I was reading, I couldn’t help but feel like normal people wouldn’t talk like that.  It wouldn’t have been as big of a deal if the older dialogue and prose had been consistent, but it wasn’t, which made it feel choppy whenever it used dialogue that didn’t seem realistic.

While this book wasn’t particularly my cup of tea, I’m sure there is someone out there who would enjoy it.  My advice would be to sit down and read it at a store or library before you decide to purchase it.  I’m not sure if I’d buy the second book in this series, but I may read it at a library or a store if I had free time, but it probably wouldn’t be any time soon.

Leave a Reply

