The Secret Life of Pets Movie Review

Review by: dancingonrain.

A dog, Max, has his life turned upside down when his owner adopts a new stray.  He does not like him, but then their antics to make each other look bad ends up taking them on an unexpected adventure where they actually bond and learn to live with each other.

Okay, first off, I’m aware that these movies are meant for kids, but I’ve always found most animated G features enjoyable even though I’m older, however, I found this movie lacking something… the usual spark.

There were so many characters to keep track of, that I don’t think I remembered all of their names and when I normally watch an animated film, it’s usually playing back in my head for a couple days after my first watch, but that didn’t happen for this movie.  I watched the movie and then forgot the majority about it only a few years after I watched it.

And while I didn’t mind the animated violence in this movie, it’s supposed to be a kids movie so I’m not sure if some parents or children would enjoy it.  There’s no blood or gore, but it’s there.  It probably depends on what adults are okay with their children seeing or not.  I wouldn’t have minded it as a child, but I’m sure some families are different.

I felt like I didn’t always understand some of the character motivations and relationships to one another other than they lived in the same apartment complex.

I liked Despicable Me 2, but I found this movie kind of lack luster.  Still, children will probably enjoy it, which is the targeted demographic anyway.  If you’re an adult, don’t have children, and are still interested in seeing this movie, I wouldn’t spend a lot of money to see it.

Leave a Reply

