The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson Book Review

Related image

Review by: Dancingonrain

When I first started reading this book, I wasn’t sure about it.  I felt like he introduced too many characters at once within the first few pages too quickly for me to be invested in one of them, but because I have read most of his other books and was already a fan of his work, I kept reading.

And it was worth it.

Kaladin was by far my favorite character in the story.  By the end of the book, things look like they’ll only become more interesting for him.

I liked Shallan’s arc, more or less, and I understood her motivations, but I also thought it wasn’t as strong of an arc as Kaladin’s.  I thought Shallan’s overall arc was a little predictable, but I still enjoyed it.  I think I found Jasnah a little more interesting though.

I had a harder time getting into Dalinar’s story until around the last few parts.  I’m not saying that I didn’t like his story earlier on at all, I just wasn’t personally as invested in it as much as Kaladin’s arc.

I thought Kabsul was an ass, but I could also tell his true intentions pretty early on even if the character he interacted with didn’t notice.

Sadeas and Gaz were bigger asses, which seemed to be their whole purpose in life, so that was well done.

I honestly didn’t really care about Alodin that much.  Not sure why.  I just didn’t.

Overall, I liked how things started to tie up in the end and how Dalinar and Kaladin’s stories came together.  I feel it was a good set up for a great second book.

I enjoyed most of the fight scenes, but found the very first one in the beginning harder to get into just because I hadn’t gotten a chance to get to know the characters, but I was thrown into the heat of battle at the very start of it all.  Kaladin grew to be my favorite character though anyway.

If you’re a fan of Brandon Sanderson’s works already, you should definitely read this book.

If you’re living under a rock and have never heard of Brandon Sanderson, then I would suggest reading on of his “shorter” books or series (Mistborn Trilogy) to decide what you want to do.

I would definitely recommend this book.

 

Leave a Reply

